Am I still a Republican? Is there still a Constitutional/Conservative Republican Party?


From Governor Bobby Jindal:

“ … I do not pretend Donald Trump is the Reaganesque leader we so desperately need, but he is certainly the better of two bad choices. Hardly an inspiring slogan, I know. It would be better to vote for a candidate rather than simply against one. If current trends hold, I will be among the many complaining this fall about my choices. … “

I have voted Republican for many years.
I was too young to vote for John F. Kennedy although I probably would have. And I certainly would have voted for Robert Kennedy.
Likewise for Lyndon Johnson – too young – and he declined to run again for the next election. I don’t know if I would have voted for him, but I think I voted for Richard Nixon, then Gerry Ford, then Ronald Reagan twice, then George H.W. Bush, then George W. Bush.

It’s not that I’ve been a hard core, died in the wool Republican – but  rather because of Democratic policies dating back to Slavery and the KKK, I’ve been anti-Democrat and will remain so.

But now with a man such as Donald Trump taking over the Republican party, I feel the need to take a sabbatical from Presidential politics – a long sabbatical perhaps extending beyond the November 2016 election.  A lot can happen between now and November, but in the meantime I will not entertain the idea of my vote going to “ the better of two bad choices.” Or as I would prefer to phrase it  — “picking one from scraping the bottom of the barrel.”

See you later in the year.

 
Don Johnson – May 201

3 responses to “Am I still a Republican? Is there still a Constitutional/Conservative Republican Party?

  1. “Conservatives are often deceived by those who try to convince them that standing on principle is what distinguishes them as upstanding human beings, that they should be proud of themselves for refusing to vote for someone with whom they disagree or they have judged to be unrighteous. The same conservatives fail to realize that when they don’t vote, they are in essence voting for the other side. ” http://thehill.com/opinion/op-ed/279596-the-cost-of-division-truth-and-consequences

  2. Pingback: Is there still a Constitutional/Conservative Republican Party? A Follow Up IMPORTANT | A Yearning for Publius

Leave a Reply

