Tokens from the Lord


I’ve long thought that if you extend your hand out in faith the Lord would, every now and then, put a token in that hand … a token that says “I’m here and I care!”

Just a few days ago I received such a token … a token that excited me, a friend in Florida and twin ladies I don’t even know in Ireland.

Let me tell you about that token.

*   *   *   *

I’ve been writing this blog now well over 5 years, and one of my earliest essays was An Update From Center Court. This is an essay about two ceremonies held at center court of  two different basketball courts on opposite sides of the country. Each of these essays featured friends and family members having Irish connections.  Now this is not surprising given the Irish/Butte connections involved.

On this web site I have a tool that can tell me from where a visitor has clicked on the site – city/state/country and also sometimes tell what particular essay was viewed.

So a couple of days ago, I am looking at this tool and see that someone has viewed An Update From Center Court from Dublin Ireland. I found this curious and was wondering with Diana whether this might have something to do with one of the two people I featured in the essay. I then shrugged it off as curious and was ready to go on to something else.

About 5 minutes later I looked at my e-mail associated with the blog and I see this:

I hope you don’t mind me posting but ended up here after a Google search for Sally and woody held. Must say I totally agree with your blog on west point, what a wonderful family….I must explain.
My name is jonine xxxxx, previously jonine xxxx.
In the summer of my primary 6 yr of school, back in the 1980s I had the privilege to stay with them at their home in fort Jackson south carolina as part of the america loves Irish children summer programme. Lately I have been trying to get back in contact which as I said earlier has led me here.
If you are still in contact with them I would be truly grateful if you could pass this message and my email xxxxxx@hotmail.co.uk
Yours in anticipation
Jonine

I then responded to Joine and we telephoned our friend Sally in Florida who, as it turns out,  had been trying to locate this Irish girl. Needless to say, Sally was exited with this new and renewed connection from the 1980s.

Jonine then responded to me:

Hi Don
What wonderful news :), my twin sister Dana will also be very excited. She was also on the trip to America with the group and altho not placed with Sally and woody she also loved them and their generosity to let her stay in their home also :).
Jonine

We haven’t heard yet about any further connection, but Diana is telling Sally “when you go there, Im going along!” (Me too!)

Don Johnson – February 2014

2 responses to “Tokens from the Lord

  1. Hi Don We’re still here in Temecula
    Very interesting post. Remember you having a young man staying with you in Ridgecrest.
    Ken

    • Hi Ken,
      Good to hear from you. We’ve been in New Haven CT for 5 years after moving to San Diego from 2000 – 2009. We moved because here is where our 3 grandkids live.
      We actually had 8 boys with us in Ridgecrest in the 1990s; 4 high school kids – Norway, Iceland, Germany & Spain as well as knowing those other foreign kids that hung around with our boys. We have maintained contact with the German and Spaniard boys and have visit them in their home countries.
      Then thanks to coach Bird we had 4 junior college basketball players from – The Netherlands, New Zealand (now in Philadelphia, PA), Fiji and Croatia. We keep in touch with the Dutch kid (now in Switzerland) the Croatian kid and the New Zealand kid and have visited tem in recent years.
      All that we still hear from are doing well.

      Cheers,
      don

Leave a Reply

