Dr. Ben Carson


Ben Carson (cropped).jpg

I was first introduced to Dr. Ben Carson in the most likely of all places, a Barnes & Nobel bookstore in Milford CT … who introduced me to Dr. Carson however, was a surprise.

I was sitting in one of those cozies of four overstuffed chairs and to my right was an older fellow, and to his right  an older women who I presumed to be his wife. Frank was reading a book I had read a short while before, but I decided to mind my own business and keep the quite in our corner.

Frank and his wife appeared to be very poor by the way they were dressed, and I guess they might even have been street people. They were eating their lunch from a Burger King bag but were well behaved; they just didn’t seem to belong.

Well, as usual I couldn’t resist, and I interrupted Frank to inquire about the book he was reading and his opinion of it. This started a conversation that broke the quite in our corner. You see Frank and I had similar views, and the book he was reading, that I read recently, was a political book. The conversation was delightful and we had much in common to share though we didn’t touch on our own personal lives, and no I didn’t ask which dumpster was their favorite. By now at my age, I’ve learned, and re-learned many times, about judging people and then finding out that no matter the outward appearance there is a real human person involved and am caught up short. In a way, just confessing this here is a form of unrighteous judgment on my part.

So as we’re talking he asks if I know of this man Dr. Ben Carson. I had not heard of him, but as Frank is sharing a bit about the doctor, I’m intrigued by what he is saying. I get up from my chair and search the stacks for the book, “America the Beautiful” that Frank was talking about. Finding it I quickly return to my chair, and hoping it’s still open for me to continue our conversation, and proudly display my new treasure from Dr. Carson.

To my left sits a young lady who has just arrived and spreads her stuff on the table and it is obvious she is a student of some sort. As I sit down (the chair is still mine) and continue with Frank, the young lady perks up with a big smile and says “I know that man, he spoke at our graduation … “ She fills us in on what she knows of the doctor, and her admiration for the man is obvious in her enthusiasm, and by now I know I must buy this book and get to know the doctor.

All this happened several months before Dr. Carson’s appearance at the National Prayer Breakfast and his rise in notoriety having spoken eloquently in opposition to the President’s policies with the President just feet away. 

image

If we’ve been paying attention since, we’ve seen a lot more of Dr. Carson and learned a lot more about him, especially on the politics of the man. But first a little of the man’s history:

First this from Wikipedia.
Carson was born in
Detroit, Michigan, and was raised by his single mother, Sonya Carson. He struggled academically throughout elementary school, but after his mother reduced his television time and required him to read two books a week and produce written reviews for her, he started to excel in middle school and throughout high school. After graduating with honors from Southwestern High School, he attended Yale University, where he earned a degree in psychology. He chose to go to Yale because in College Bowl, an old knowledge competition television program, he saw Yale compete against and defeat many other colleges, including Harvard. Carson wanted to participate in College Bowl, but the program was discontinued. From Yale, he attended University of Michigan Medical School.

And this from hearing of his early life from various interviews:

His mother was one of 24 children from a mother who was married at thirteen years old. What isn’t told in the Wikipedia bio was his mother’s method of reviewing the book reports; as Dr. Carson tells it she would sit at the table with the reports in front of her, pencil and markers in hand and nodded and marked as she read the reports, and then handed them back. Then Dr. Carson says “we didn’t know she couldn’t read.

And from his book “… Father was no longer at home to provide any leadership. He had left the family when Mother found out he had been living as a bigamist across town. Mother wasn’t home either – but for different reasons. She was almost always out working, trying to provide for us as best she could.”

Wow … and look at him now.


So now the politics (you knew that was coming.)

Since the Prayer Breakfast, the Conservative views of Dr. Carson have become widely known to those paying attention. He has been interviewed  on many radio and television shows, and has even generated some interest in his becoming a presidential candidate.

The man is soft spoken, quite articulate and well versed in American history, economics and politics. And is comfortable in his world view and his Christianity.

Rush Limbaugh maintains that it will be difficult for the left to demonize this man because of his sterling record of achievement and his manner of articulating his views.

However, it’s starting …


Again from Limbaugh … Despicable Fool Smears Dr. Ben Carson … MSNBC host Toure

“ … this young fool on MSNBC decides to attack Ben Carson on the basis that he’s nothing but a white man’s token, a white Republican’s token. He’s just perfect. He is nothing more than the latest black guy to come along that white people can accept and embrace for one reason only, and that is to prove they’re not racists.”


And from Dr. Carson’s own school, Johns Hopkins: Again from Limbaugh:
The Mob Comes for Dr. Carson

RUSH: I don’t know if you’ve heard this or not.  Dr. Benjamin Carson. This literally depresses me. I have no other way characterizing this.  He’s a neurosurgeon at Johns Hopkins Medical Center. The medical students graduating class have asked that he be replaced as their commencement speaker.  He said (summarized), “Okay, fine. I’ll step aside.  It’s their day.  I don’t want to intrude on their day.”  But, man. These are students where this guy works, and they don’t want him to be their commencement speaker because of his political beliefs as espoused on TV. Medical students! Not social workers, medical students.  To me that’s evidence that… I don’t know what it is. We’re losing the country or what have you.

Yes … three comments from Rush Limbaugh. I find him as probably the best, most accurate and honest political commentator on the scene today, and has been for many years.

Dr. Carson will continue to come under attack as being a racist Uncle Tom, a homophobic and worse. His views on politics, economics and  American History will be discounted but not countered. He will be attacked on a personal level as was Judge Bork and Judge Clarence Thomas.


  • Learn about Doctor  Ben Carson.
  • Learn from Doctor Ben Carson.
  • Listen to Doctor Ben Carson.
  • Read the words and thoughts of Doctor  Ben Carson.
  • Support Doctor  Ben Carson and advocate for him if he resonates with you.
  • Pray for Doctor Ben Carson
     

Wow … and look at him now. A quality man, a quality American. Doctor Benjamin Carson

Don Johnson March — 2013

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Dr. Ben Carson

  1. Thanks very much for sharing your impression and admiration of Dr. Ben Carson!

    I have been thinking about participating in a “book club” on the Internet for reading Dr. Benson’s books together as a means to share among his readers the wisdom and insight we can learn from him. Are you aware of any?

    • Hi Scott,
      Thanks for your comment and question. I haven’t participated in any on-line book clubs, but one you might check out is http://www.goodreads.com/
      If I may ask, how do I know you, that is without disclosing any specific information, unless you wish. What city/state do you live in and how did you come across my blog?
      Regards,
      don

  2. He’s getting the full treatment now. The latest is that he mentioned gay marriage, pedophiles and bestiality practitioners in a loosely comparative context. The left, and of course useful idiot students, are outraged and Dr Carson had to deliver one of those “I’m sorry if anyone was offended” apologies. Amazing how the left has actually succeeded in making homosexuals, who by-and-large are fairly wealthy and well-positioned in society, into an oppressed civil rights group.

Leave a Reply

