Man, Sex, God, and Yale (and elsewhere)


I live in New Haven, Connecticut just a short 10 minute bus ride to the downtown Yale campus. I often go there to hang around at the bookstore, and sometimes just to walk around the campus.

My newly adopted home state of Connecticut borders Massachusetts to the North, but more on that later.

Read some excerpts from a speech given by Nathan Harden, a 2009 Yale graduate, and author of  Sex and God at Yale: Porn, Political Correctness, and a Good Education Gone Bad

In 1951, William F. Buckley, Jr., a graduate of Yale the year before, published his first book, God & Man at Yale. In the preface, he described two ideas that he had brought with him to Yale and that governed his view of the world:

“I had always been taught, and experience had fortified the teachings, that an active faith in God and a rigid adherence to Christian principles are the most powerful influences toward the good life. I also believed, with only a scanty knowledge of economics, that free enterprise and limited government had served this country well and would probably continue to do so in the future.”

The body of the book provided evidence that the academic agenda at Yale was openly antagonistic to those two ideas—that Buckley had encountered a teaching and a culture that were hostile to religious faith and that promoted collectivism over free market individualism. Rather than functioning as an open forum for ideas, his book argued, Yale was waging open war upon the faith and principles of its alumni and parents.

And more from Mr. Harden:

My book—which I entitled Sex and God at Yale—shows that Yale’s liberals are still actively working to refashion American politics and culture. But the devil is in the details, and it’s safe to say that there are things happening at Yale today that Buckley could scarcely have even imagined in 1951. While the Yale of Buckley’s book marginalized or undermined religious faith in the classroom, my book tells of a classmate who was given approval to create an art object out of what she claimed was blood and tissue from self-induced abortions. And while the Yale of Buckley’s book was promoting socialist ideas in its economics department, my book chronicles Yale’s recent employment of a professor who publicly praised terrorist organizations such as Hamas and Hezbollah.

. . .

There is clearly a radical sexual agenda at work at Yale today. Professors and administrators who came of age during the sexual revolution are busily indoctrinating students into a culture of promiscuity. In fact, Yale pioneered the hosting of a campus “Sex Week”—a festival of sleaze, porn, and debauchery, dressed up as sex education. I encountered this tawdry tradition as an undergrad, and my book documents the events of Sex Week, including the screening in classrooms of hard-core pornography and the giving of permission to sex toy manufacturers and porn production companies to market their products to students.

In one classroom, a porn star stripped down to bare breasts, attached pinching and binding devices to herself as a lesson in sadomasochism, and led a student around the room in handcuffs. On other occasions, female students competed in a porn star look-alike contest judged by a male porn producer, and a porn film showing a woman bound and beaten was screened in the context of “instruction” on how students might engage in relationships of their own.

And again, these things happened with the full knowledge and approval of Yale’s senior administrators.

. . .

It was my aim in writing Sex and God at Yale to bring accountability to Yale’s leaders in hopes of reform. Yale has educated three of the last four presidents, and two of the last three justices appointed to the Supreme Court. What kind of leaders will it be supplying in ten years, given its current direction?

Unfortunately, what’s happening at Yale is indicative of what is occurring at colleges and universities across the country. Sex Week, for example, is being replicated at Harvard, Brown, Duke, Northwestern, the University of Illinois, and the University of Wisconsin. Nor would it suffice to demand an end to Sex Weeks on America’s college campuses. Those events are, after all, only symptoms of a deeper emptiness in modern academia. Our universities have lost touch with the purpose of liberal arts education, the pursuit of truth. In abandoning that mission—indeed, by denying its possibility—our institutions of higher learning are afflicted to the core.

Let me add my own comments about Yale. As I mentioned earlier, I often go downtown and walk around the Yale campus.  Woolsey Hall is one of the places I enjoy and have been to a few concerts there.  In the main entry way to Woolsey Hall are large marble panels honoring Yale students and graduates who gave their lives in the service of their country; these panels go back to the Revolutionary War. However, there is a gap in these memorials between the Vietnam war and the present. This gap represents a radical shift in the culture of Yale (and many other American Universities) which became ashamed of the universities long tradition of military service, and in fact kicked out the ROTC programs that had been there. This transition in culture occurred in the 1960s when leftist radicals took over the campus and forced these changes.

To get an idea of the rich tradition of military service Yale possessed from its founding in 1701, I invite you to read the book The Millionaires Unit by my friend and neighbor Marc Wortman.  I include the book description here:

The Millionaires’ Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockefeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. Driven by the belief that their membership in the American elite required certain sacrifice, schooled in heroism and the nature of leadership, they determined to be first into the conflict, leading the way ahead of America’s declaration that it would join the war. At the heart of the group was the Yale flying club, six of whom are the heroes of this book. They would share rivalries over girlfriends, jealousies over membership in Skull and Bones, and fierce ambition to be the most daring young man over the battlefields of France, where the casualties among flyers were chillingly high. One of the six would go on to become the principal architect of the American Air Force’s first strategic bomber force. Others would bring home decorations and tales of high life experiences in Paris. Some would not return, having made the greatest sacrifice of all in perhaps the last noble war. For readers of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags Of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.

I don’t want to see new names added to these walls, but my point is that Yale withdrew as an institution willing to be a bulwark of liberty. ROTC was reinstated at Yale in 2011, but only after the Yale administrators gave in to demands from the activist gay movement.  

And a final word from Mr. Harden:

The political freedom that makes a liberal arts education possible requires an ongoing and active defense of liberty. Try exercising academic freedom in a place like Tehran or Kabul! Here in the U.S., we take our liberty far too much for granted. To the extent that Yale and schools like it succeed in producing leaders who subscribe to the ideology of moral relativism—and who thus see no moral distinction between America and its enemies—we will likely be disabused of this false sense of security all too soon.

Read Mr. Harden’s full speech  at Man, Sex, God, and Yale.

Before I leave Yale and head north to Massachusetts, look what else is going on at universities: such as Brown, Penn, Harvard and Cornell :
Yale mulls paying for students’ sex change operations

You recall earlier the quote from Buckley and Harden about Yale undermining  faith in God, free enterprise and limited government? Many parents around the nation lament the change they see in their children after a college education; how they have lost their faith and in many cases are soured on America.

Well maybe soon, we can add to that dismay on the part of the parents; they send Johnnie off to Yale and he comes back as Mary Elisabeth.  And young Mary comes back as Bruce. Why does our culture put up with this destructive madness?


Now to my neighbor to the North -Massachusetts.

Read carefully this article in the Wall Street Journal by James Ehrhard:
Make Way for Transgender High School because it may be coming your way sooner than you might think.

Teen age high school students (age 14-18) and children of parents, and the parents themselves,  in Massachusetts are now the direct subjects and victims of this same radical transformation discussed earlier in my article.

I have written earlier about my strong belief in American Exceptionalism (here, here and here), but these “fundamental transformations” of the American culture, if continued will cause a retreat in that belief, and it saddens me greatly to thus retreat.

Friends we are crossing, or have crossed, that line between Liberty and License, and it grieves my heart that we are leaving such a legacy to our posterity.

I leave you with that great admonition from 2 Chronicles 7:14 in the Old Testament:

If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

It’s up to us people, to turn this around.

Don Johnson  — March 2013

3 responses to “Man, Sex, God, and Yale (and elsewhere)

  1. Regarding my comment “… I have written earlier about my strong belief in American Exceptionalism (here, here and here), but these “fundamental transformations” of the American culture, if continued will cause a retreat in that belief, and it saddens me greatly to thus retreat.” Let me comment further:
    As I have written previously, one of the attributes I see in American Exceptionalism has been the ability of the “good” America to chase out the “bad” America; e.g. slavery and the Civil War.
    My hope is that the “good” America will soon rise up and banish the “bad” America that I write about in this article.

  2. Ronald Vander Griend

    The pictures of the great men of Yale are all but fading. Do not expect many new pictures as this country is not about the future anymore but about the past. It is like the Papacy. After Malachy there were only pictures for 112 more Popes and he would be the last. He was right on predictions of all I could check and very accurate on the last 10 I reviewed extensively. We shall soon see the last Pope and if Malachy is correct he will call himself Peter the Roman. My bets are on Bertone.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s