I Lost My Friend Mark the Other Day


Mark was a friend, a neighbor, and a fellow warrior in a valiant fight to save our homes in Mission Valley Village.

Others new Mark in more intimate and profound ways: Mark was a loving husband to Caroline; Mark was a loving  father; Mark was a loving grandfather; Mark was a loving brother to his sisters and brother; Mark was a loved son to his mother and father; Mark was a valued co-worker, and Mark was a dear friend and neighbor to so many.

In times of loss, we naturally reflect on and think of many very personal things: We reflect on Mark, and the many things we remember doing with him, and the many things he has done for us, and the many things we have done for him.  We will miss being able to do those things, and more, with Mark in the future.  It is good and natural that we think on these things, and solidify the memories and legacy’s we will carry forward, and we will come to realize that which we have gained from being Mark’s wife, son, grandson, granddaughter, brother, sister, neighbor and friend.
Do that!  Remember Mark, and grow from those memories.

In times of loss, we also reflect on our own destiny and our own mortality. So now I would like to direct your thoughts to another man who died; a man called Jesus of Nazareth. And, I would like to direct your thoughts to the very nature of this man; a unique man in all of history. Unlike my friend Mark, Jesus died a very violent death, but a death with a very specific purpose. That purpose was to take upon his own shoulders the sins of us all, and to provide forgiveness of those sins to all who would believe on Him.
Jesus is unique among all religious, philosophical or political leaders; Jesus did not only teach or expound His message. He was identical with His message. “In Him,” say the scriptures, “dwelt the fullness of the Godhead bodily.” He did not just proclaim the truth. He said, “I am the truth.” He did not just show a way. He said, “I am the way.” He did not just open up vistas. He said, “I am the door.” “I am the good Shepard.” “I am the resurrection and the life.” “I am the I AM (meaning God).”
Jesus said, “I am the Bread of Life, he who comes to Me will never go hungry, and he who believes in Me will never be thirsty.”

I invite you to seek out and BELIEVE in this man called Jesus.

  

One response to “I Lost My Friend Mark the Other Day

  1. You have my sympathy. Yes, Jesus is the one an only true way to God.

Leave a Reply

