Some Arizona e-mail traffic between me an a San Diego City Council member


Posted by The Real Don Johnson on Wednesday, May 26, 2010 6:06:01 AM

Some editing to remove names and personal information.

Thanks, but I’ll just continue to do my little piece here in retirement. If I didn’t believe I could make an impact in preserving our republic, I’d just go to Philadelphia where this great nation was born, and die there with it.

From: xxxxxx
Sent: Tuesday, May 25, 2010 2:55 PM
To: Don
Subject: Re: Arizona boycott

Thanks for sharing this. Don, anytime you want to run for office you have our vote.

—– Original Message —–

From: DonAndDi

To: ‘DeMaio, Councilmember Carl’

Sent: Tuesday, May 25, 2010 1:26 PM

Subject: RE: Arizona boycott

Council member DeMaio,

This time I do indeed sincerely congratulate you on your singular vote against the San Diego Council resolution re. Arizona.

The actions of so many against Arizona have greatly distressed me, and I would ask your indulgence in reading an e-mail I distributed to my friends and family, some of which do not agree with my stand.

Again, thank you for your principled stand.

Don Johnson

The last several days have been bad ones for me, filled with anger, frustration, depression, dark thoughts, blame and confusion.

We see states passing laws that have inflamed millions, we see a federal government ignoring and ridiculing that states laws, only to find out that the law hasn’t been read by the highest officials. We see charges leveled back and forth. We see cities threatening boycott against states, and we see other states on the verge of passing similar laws of self-protection. We see sports teams getting involved in heated political actions. We see threats of cities threatening boycotts, of states by cities across the nation, and we see a counter threat to cut off electrical power to a major city. We see entertainment figures speaking out in anger and threats against basketball coaches. We hear the leader of a foreign nation, attack one of our states, with the blessing of our own federal leadership, and in our own seats of power. We have the president of Cuba condemning one of our own states.

What we have is chaos. How can and should we behave in the face of such a deluge of confusion?

I reacted and behaved badly, I was wrong.

This morning, in a cooler mood, and after a bit of reflection, I hopefully can offer some words of encouragement.

· Resist reacting as I did yesterday.

· In the midst of my depression yesterday, and while I was trying to repress my lashing out (unsuccessfully), I found my seven year old granddaughter curling up in my lap like a little bug. I wrapped my arms around here and held her close and felt here love and warmth. It helped a great deal. I’m reminded of that little girl’s mother, years ago, who when she would see me slumped in my chair in a down mood, would climb up in my lap just like little Riley did yesterday. I asked her what she did when she felt sad and low. She told me that she liked to find someone with a problem and try to make them feel better. Family; keep them close and treasure them; they can be your shelter in the storms of life.

· I finally came back to a scripture that has served me well over the years “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not to your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.”

· And this one also “Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers. And grieve not the holy Spirit of God, whereby ye are sealed unto the day of redemption. Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamor, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice: And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.” (Ephesians 4: 29-32)

I hope this helps you in your individual struggle with these trying times.

Best regards,

Don

From: DeMaio, Councilmember Carl [mailto:CarlDeMaio@sandiego.gov]
Sent: Tuesday, May 25, 2010 12:52 PM
To: Don
Subject: RE: Arizona boycott

Don,

Thank you for your email. I was the lone NO vote against the City Council resolution because it did not accurately reflect Arizona state law and did not speak for the vast majority of San Diegans who want to call the federal government to task for its failure to secure our nation’s borders

In Service,

Carl DeMaio

Councilmember, 5th District


From: Don
Sent: Monday, May 17, 2010 4:09 PM
To: DeMaio, Councilmember Carl
Subject: Arizona boycott

I congratulate the wise San Diego City Council for their vote against the San Diego tourism industry. The fine people of Arizona can go to Sea World in San Antonio rather than San Diego, and also visit their own Grand Canyon rather than the many fine National parks in California. I’m sure that the small business owners at Old Town, Seaport Village, Mission Valley and throughout the county will not greatly miss the business generated by the Arizonans. The Zoo and Wild Animal Park will suffer a shortfall of revenue, but I’m sure that the very rich city coffers will be opened up to make up the difference. I’m sure that all of the business in San Diego had a vote in this matter, and they won’t mind laying off employees, or going out of business.

Citizens of San Diego, rise up and throw these City Council members out of office.

Don Johnson

San Diego, CA

Leave a Reply

